Correction Memo – Advantage After Send Off and IDFK

Image result for correction

At our education session last night, there was some talk surrounding the law change of playing an advantage and then restarting with an indirect free kick if the offending player gets involved with play.  Here is the clip that was presented to illustrate this point:

There was a slight error in the explanation of this change which we would like to now rectify.

The law reads:
“Advantage should not be applied in situations involving serious foul play,
violent conduct or a second cautionable offence unless there is a clear
opportunity to score a goal. The referee must send off the player when the ball
is next out of play but if the player plays the ball or challenges/interferes with
an opponent, the referee will stop play, send off the player and restart with an
indirect free kick.”  (IFAB LOTG 2016/17, pg. 84-85)
The IDFK restart ONLY applies in cases of a sending off (Red Card Offence, second caution included).
The reason for this is that the player who is getting involved should be sent off, and not be on the field of play any longer. For that player to remain on the field because of an advantage, and then get involved with play again (when he should have been sent off) is unfair and not allowed.
If there is a cautionable offense where an advantage is given, and the offending player in this case gets involved with play, the referee allows play to continue and must caution the player when the ball is next out of play.
If you have any questions regarding this clarification, or any law change in general, please do not hesitate to contact us at info@torontosra.com and we will be happy to assist.
Also, please check out our resources on the new 2016/17 changes – there’s lots of stuff there, including the OSA modules and clips with explanations.
Happy Whistling!
David Figliano
Director, Referee Education
Toronto Soccer Referees’ Association

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s